What to do after a hit and run in Rhode Island
When you have an accident, both drivers usually stop to exchange insurance information. Fleeing the scene of an accident, also called hit-and-run, has major consequences. In Rhode Island, the average annual cost of full coverage auto insurance is $ 2,018, but after a hit and run, the average rate increases 61% to $ 3,251. based on 2021 data obtained from Quadrant Information Services.
Hit-and-run accidents are not uncommon, which is one reason most states, including Rhode Island, require every driver to purchase a minimum amount of auto insurance. If you are driving in Rhode Island, it is important to understand the penalties associated with a hit and run and what to do if you are in a hit and run accident.
Hit and run in Rhode Island
In Rhode Island, a hit and run is defined as a collision where a driver who has knowingly been involved in an accident fails to stop. An accident is always considered a hit-and-run if a non-responsible driver flees the scene.
Although the state of Rhode Island does not publish hit-and-run data, these types of accidents are increasingly common across the country. According to the AAA Foundation, there were approximately 737,100 hit-and-run accidents in 2015, showing that one hit-and-run accident occurred every 43 seconds.
Rhode Island hit and run laws
A Rhode Island driver who collides with another driver and leaves the scene is fully responsible for the losses of the non-at-fault driver. If the driver is caught, he will have to compensate the other driver for repairs to his vehicle and medical bills, as for any accident.
However, the consequences of a hit and run in Rhode Island are serious. If a driver flees the scene of an accident, he will be charged with a misdemeanor. The conviction carries a fine of $ 500 to $ 1,000, jail time of up to six months, and license suspension of up to six months. If the accident causes injuries or deaths, the penalties are more severe.
How hit-and-run is impacting auto insurance rates in Rhode Island
Inducing a hit and run in Rhode Island has a major impact on auto insurance premiums. The average annual cost of full coverage auto insurance in Rhode Island before an accident is $ 2,108, and after a hit and run, the average rate is $ 3,251. Although the hit-and-run rate is slightly lower than the national average for the United States, drivers could see their premium increase even more depending on the circumstances.
|Before a hit and run||After a hit and run||After an ordinary accident|
|Average Rhode Island||$ 2,018||$ 3,251||$ 2,000|
|national average||$ 1,674||$ 3,367||$ 2,405|
Three things to do after a hit and run in Rhode Island
If you’re on a hit-and-run in Rhode Island, the first thing you should do is call emergency services if you or any of your passengers are injured. Once you’ve parked safely and turned on your hazard lights, here are the next steps you can take:
- Call the police: If you haven’t already called 911, notify the police of the incident. An officer will meet you at the scene, file a police report, and ask you to remember all possible details about the driver and the vehicle that struck you. The police report can be helpful when filing an insurance claim.
- Record any damage: If it is safe, take photos of the damage to your vehicle before leaving the scene of the accident. Write down what you remember about the accident and describe the damage. If you or any of your passengers received medical treatment, write down the treatment and where you received it.
- File an insurance claim: The last step is to call your insurance company and start the claims process. An agent can help you understand what will be covered and what information is needed to file the claim. The claims adjuster will ask you to see the photos of the damage to your vehicle as well as the police report.
Will the insurance cover a hit and run?
In Rhode Island, every driver who has purchased auto insurance must be covered for hit-and-run. But although Rhode Island auto insurance companies must provide coverage to uninsured / underinsured motorists as part of a minimum coverage policy, coverage can be refused in writing. Coverage for uninsured and underinsured motorists can help pay for your vehicle’s repairs and medical bills if you’re struck by a fleeing driver.
Additionally, drivers who have a comprehensive coverage policy will benefit from additional hit-and-run protection. Collision insurance could cover repairs to your car, and medical payment coverage could compensate you for medical expenses, lost wages, and rehabilitation costs, up to the limits of your policy.
Financial protection for incidents such as hit-and-run accidents is one of the reasons most insurance experts recommend that you purchase auto insurance that is higher than the state’s recommended minimum limits.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best auto insurance company?
The best auto insurance company is different for every driver. It depends on what kind of coverage you need, how much you want to spend and where you live, among other things. To find the best supplier for you, shop around and compare a few companies based on your personal criteria, then get quotes to see which carrier can offer the best rate.
How much does car insurance cost in Rhode Island?
The average cost of auto insurance in Rhode Island is $ 2,018 per year for a full coverage policy and $ 749 per year for a minimum coverage policy. For comparison, the average rate in the United States is $ 1,674 per year for full coverage and $ 565 for minimum coverage, so drivers in Rhode Island typically pay more, on average. The actual rate you pay will vary depending on your situation.
Is a hit and run in your case?
Yes, a hit-and-run will appear on your driving record, whether or not you were the cause of the accident. However, no-fault hit-and-run usually has less of an impact on your auto insurance premium. Hit-and-run is usually deleted from your driving record after three to five years.
Bankrate uses Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all zip codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, DC Rates shown are based on a 40 year old male and female driver with a clean driving record, credit and the following comprehensive coverage limits:
- $ 100,000 liability for bodily injury per person
- $ 300,000 in civil liability for bodily injury per accident
- Civil liability for property damage of $ 50,000 per accident
- $ 100,000 in bodily injury caused by an uninsured motorist per person
- $ 300,000 in uninsured bodily injury per accident to a motorist
- $ 500 collision deductible
- Global deductible of $ 500
To determine the minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets the requirements of each state. Our basic profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and cover 12,000 miles a year.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparison purposes.
Incident: The rates were calculated by evaluating our basic profile with the following incidents applied: clean criminal record (basic), responsible accident, single speeding ticket, single conviction for driving while intoxicated and forfeiture of coverage.