Panella goes back-to-back in Super 600 while Mauldin tops shortlist at Delta

Stockton’s Alex Panella won his second consecutive Super 600 feature at Delta Speedway presented by Valley Strong Credit Union while Rancho Murieta’s Lucas Mauldin won his sixth restricted feature of the year, highlighting Saturday’s action at Stockton. Ashton Torgerson of Medford, Oregon won Non-Wing and Heston Stepps of Oakdale also picked up the Jr. Sprints victory.

Austin Wood of Sacramento was the fastest qualifier in the 20-car field for the Super 600 while Nikko Panella and Austin Torgerson won the ten-lap races.

Alex Panella and Ashton Torgerson shared the front row for the 30-lap feature, paying $500 to win. Panella and Torgerson paced the field the full distance on 1/7e mile dirt oval, with third wood finish. Austin Torgerson and Cody Key of Fresno were the top five.

Lucas Mauldin’s outstanding restricted season continued with Saturday’s win. Nathan Ward of Bakersfield dominated qualifying while Mauldin and Andrew Smith of Castro Valley were the winners of the qualifying race. Mauldin started outside Ward for the 25-lap main event. Mauldin took the lead and never gave it up for a $300 triumph. Ward finished second followed by Kellan Harper of Pleasanton, Khloe Cotton of Bakersfield and Kyle Fernandez of Tracy.

Non-Wing led all four divisions in action with its 29-car entry. French Camp’s Sage Bordenave was fastest in the time trials while qualifying races were won by Red Bluff’s Carsen Perkins, Austin Torgerson and Ashton Torgerson. A 12-round B-Main was needed for the big turnout with Austin Wood claiming that event ahead of Rocklin’s Tucker LaCaze.

The Non-Wing feature was the most hotly contested of the evening. Brentwood’s Robbie Lewis and Michael Laughton shared the front row for the 30-lap event. Mattix Salmon of Fresno and Torgerson immediately cracked the top two while Laughton fell outside the top five on the opening home run.

Torgerson took the lead from Salmon on lap seven, but he was red-flagged for an incident involving Hanford’s Andrew Tamariz on lap two. When the action resumed, Salmon held on to the lead until lap 12 when Torgerson finally completed the decisive maneuver.

Torgerson topped Salmon for the $500 win with Devon Courtnier, Austin Torgerson and Los Banos’ Kevin Carter in the top five.

The Jr. Sprints competition kicked off with four qualifying races for the speedway’s youngest riders, with wins for Arboga’s Kyle Klagenberg, Rancho Murieta’s Maya Mauldin and Oakdale’s Heston Stepps.

Stepps started in the front row outside alongside Quentin Hagopian. Stepps took the lead on the opening circuit to win the 20-lap final. The win paid out $200. Points leader Briggs Davis was third at the finish, followed by Haven Sherman of Klagenberg and Citrus Heights.

Delta Speedway presented by Valley Strong Credit Union continues August 20 with its tenth points race of the 2022 campaign, vying for $1,000 track championships.
Delta Speedway Stockton thanks Valley Strong Credit Union, Hoosier Tire, Scully’s Air, Kludt Oil and Propane, Interstate Truck Center, Papé Kenworth, Van De Pol Petroleum, Hostile Wheels, Genova Bakery, Winner’s Bingo, Stubborn Rods, Solari’s Backhoe Service and PMP Châssis for their support of the 2022 racing season.

For more information about Delta Speedway presented by Valley Strong Credit Union, follow us online at or on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Delta Speedway Results – August 6, 2022 Points Race #9

1. 12-Alex Panella[1]; 2. 02-Ashton Torgerson[2]; 3. 2-Austin Wood[4]; 4. 88-Austin Torgerson[6]; 5. 14 code key[5]; 6. 73-Nikko Panella[7]; 7. 4 Yantis Jets[3]; 8. 63 coltons key[15]; 9. Salmon 5-Mattix[13]; 10. 19-Nate Matherly[14]; 11. 10R-Rylee Whitehouse[18]; 12. 30-Isabel Barnes[9]; 13. 32A-Colton Huelsmann[16]; 14. 44X-Jeffery Pahule[12]; 15. 27-Ron Singh[17]; 16. (DNF) 114-Drake Carter[11]; 17. (DNF) 3-Cole Schroeder[8]; 18. (DNF) 91C-Colby Greig[19]; 19. (DNS) 21-Raio Salmon; 20. (DNS) 67-Ryan Dotson

1.02-Ashton Torgerson[5]; 2. Salmon 5-Mattix[3]; 3. 34-Devon Courtnier[7]; 4. 88-Austin Torgerson[10]; 5. 28K-Kevin Carter[9]; 6. 8G-TJ Smith[12]; 7. 44X-Jeffery Pahule[18]; 8. 85-Robbie Lewis[1]; 9. 35-Carsen Perkins[4]; 10. 19D-Mike Ludwig[13]; 11. 15L-Michael Laughton[2]; 12. 73-Nikko Panella[11]; 13. 81X – Jayden Bartlett[19]; 14. 4X-Teagan Moles[8]; 15. (DNF) 88P-Koen Shaw[14]; 16. (DNF) 19-Tucker LaCaze[17]; 17. (DNF) 81T-Tyler Chamorro[15]; 18. (DNF) 77-Sage Bordenave[6]; 19. (DNF) 81-Andrew Tamariz; 20. (DNF) 13D-Drew Laeber[20]; 21. (DNS) 2-Austin Wood

1. 55X-Lucas Mauldin[2]; 2. Ward 95-Nathan[1]; 3. 5-Kellan Harper[6]; 4. Cotton 4K-Khloe[8]; 5. 77K-Kyle Fernandez[5]; 6. 58C-Clay Mibach[12]; 7. 76-TK OBrien[16]; 8. 20-Otto Perreira[10]; 9. 10P-Peyton Whitehouse[13]; 10.09N-AJ Neilson[9]; 11. 98-Hayden Stepps[11]; 12. 29V-Vito Celli`[17]; 13. 9J-Levi Osborne[18]; 14. 9-Adrianna DeMartini[3]; 15. 33-Andrew Smith[4]; 16. 25A – Bradley Anderson[14]; 17. 10J-Aubri Huckleberry[19]; 18. (DNF) 21-Mickelina Monico[15]; 19. (DNF) 25R-Brody Rubio[7]

1. 98-Heston Stepps[2]; 2. 96-Briggs Davis[4]; 3. 14Q-Quentin Hagopian[1]; 4. 11K-Kyle Klagenberg[6]; 5. 12 Sherman Harbor[3]; 6. 38J-Jackson Tardiff[7]; 7. 24N-Nathan Fernandez[8]; 8. 09-Brandon curry[13]; 9. 25DD – Samantha Dozier[10]; 10. 16C-Colin Reynolds[12]; 11. 26-Dylan Silva[9]; 12. (DNF) 55X-Maya Mauldin[5]; 13. (DNF) 97-James Curry[11]

Delta Speedway PR

Comments are closed.